who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

08 XI 2003 - 20:31 - quiesco

new

I have let the seductive convenience of LiveJournal overtake me.

Seriously, every time I've tried to keep up three online journals (you may laugh at me for trying, now), I've failed. And no matter how hard I try to keep them alive by segregating their purposes, in the end, one of them ends up going down the tube, until finally it's so embarrassing to keep them at all that I have to chuck one out the window and recuperate with but two sites to blather on, at least until I get cocky again and open up a third. (Rinse. Repeat.)

Something that's looked ever-more attractive, however, is the prospect of chucking this one out the window -- this one, which got me started, and tended me, and allowed me to learn what bits of HTML I've managed to pick up (although I will never be able to code a simple web-page; that's just beyond me. Far better to let this newfangled technology stuff to others younger, or at the very least more determined, than I.)

You see, I've found one space for my witterings, and another space for my witterings broken into lines and titled, as if they have significance (sometimes, I like to call these 'poems,' if I am in a self-deluding mood). The challenge I've found is (of course) LiveJournal based, and Alchera is very, very, dead, so there really isn't any reason for me to stay here. (Except the time remaining on my gold membership -- those of you who are gold members, does he renew it automatically? He at least sends you a warning, right, so you can cancel? I have so little idea of how to do this it's not even funny.) And... now that I've figured out that I can back up my previous entries, and have done, even if what I said three years ago has a somewhat depressing tendency to induce much wincing and cringing from the present self who is (obviously!) older and wiser... there's little reason for me to stay here.

Except. It was my first long-term online committment, and I have met many people whom I am glad to have known, and without it I'd likely never have made the leap to LiveJournal, would never have understood the first thing about HTML (after all, LJ's BML still escapes me), and... sure, I designed the color scheme myself. I can get sort of weepy about that.

What is very likely to happen over the next few months is what has happened up to now: a long period of inactivity, broken by sporadic updates that basically muse on how this was the first, and therefore dearest (even if not necessarily best); how the signs of my own growth cheer and appall me; how, even after this has become nothing more than an electronic once-blip, this my footprint will wedge itself in along my memories of my preschool and the WPA mural of my branch library -- part of the landscape we bear with us as we grow, even as it is erased by progress.

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?