who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

30 IV 2003 - 08:44 - verba47

new

Quickly, because I haven't been here in a while...

I had promised Flood that I'd let him know how my translation worked out and send him a copy. I don't want to send a copy through email yet, as I'm still working on replying to the last email -- but it's going to be up here. It managed to make it into the last fifteen under consideration, although it didn't make the final cut (read: first or second place). But hey, I'm not complaining: for a first try that took me about four days, anything, I think, would have been nice.

Nisus, son of Hyrtacus, was guard of the gateway;
Ida the huntress had sent this man, known for the speed of his spear-throws,
flight of his arrows, and courage in battle, to join with Aeneas.
There by his side stood comrade Euryalus � no Trojan warrior

under Aeneas was greater in beauty � a boy with first down on
unshaven cheeks. One love joined them; as one they would rush to do
battle; this night, too, they guarded the gateway together.
Nisus spoke: �Do the gods put this fire for battle within us,
Euryalus, or does each make a god of his own fierce desires?
Now for a while my mind has been restless and planning for battle or
some great deed; this lull cannot calm it. See for yourself what
confident attitude grips the Rutulians; with few watchlights gleaming,
they have lain down, limbs slackened by sleep and by wine; the broad plain lies
quiet. Now heed the plan I�ve been weighing, the mission that rises
fresh in my mind now. Everyone, elders and people, demands that
Aeneas be summoned, that couriers be sent who will bear him
sure news. If they promise the things I�ll demand for you (the glory
alone of the deed is sufficient for me) � below the knoll over there, I think
I am able to find a way to the strong city walls of Pallanteum.

Which passage just goes to show that no, I can't write, and no, I can't preserve any sense of dactylic hexameter.

But it was fun to try.

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?