who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

23 VIII 2003 - 18:53 - brevis72

new

I have come home finally from both New York and senior retreat, and I'm glad to be back with friends. It's odd not doing Greek very day any more, and I find I sort of miss it -- I'm looking forward to a few of my classes this year, but none so much as I did Greek in those heady few days before I started the course and was swamped with work. (Which work, incidentally, did not dampen my enthusiasm for long; I know I said I hated Greek and was having a horrible time, but somewhere around the third week of the course I realized I'd fallen in love with this language just as hard as I'd fallen in love earlier with Latin, and that I liked being around most of the people in my program, and that doing something I cared about for just about ten hours a day was fantastic.) Scheduling hell -- I have only four core classes where my school requires five because of a series of unfortunate scheduling decisions on the part of the registrar -- looks as if it's going to be over soon, especially if both the man with whom I hope to read Greek and the school's administration bless my plans.

I'm quite sad that the Greek program is over, when I have time to think about it. Everything was like a mad sprint to the end, even with the blackout; there was talk on Sunday, with the building closed because of damage to the fire systems, of having the final in Bryant Park, if the problems weren't fixed in time. And so there was no sense of closure, no time to prepare -- just a quick handoff of graded exams and Greek-language diplomas, and then the flight home.

Which doesn't feel so much like home, really. Friends are friends, although a bit different. The school seems smaller, and I feel it settling around me differently, as if I might finally be comfortable walking through the halls. I don't know how much of this is the good side of being a senior and how much is due to the changes in temperament others have been noticing in me -- although to me, of course, it seems as if everything else has changed, the giants in the shadows shrinking to manageable height. I have the applications I think I need -- somewhat disturbingly, they number two -- and a to-do list that has a disconcerting habit of growing, mostly from the responsibilities of leading two clubs (VOX, the school literary magazine, and the Gay-Straight Alliance).

There's much work that has to be done between here and June, but I think I might be up to it, for once. So here I come.

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?