who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

21 X 2002 - 20:34 - latineI

new

Floodtide carus quandocumque scripserat me scribere lingua Latina bene posse. Forsan obliviscitur veritatis meae: vere verba aliorum refero...

At verbis Floodtidiensis lectis, volebam conari sententias meas Latina scribere. Tam multum de verbis dignis cogitavi ut doleam. Nunc intellego cur Latina mortua videatur; vere difficile est scribere cogitareque in lingua Latina.

Nebulae hodie pulchrae erant. Ad ludum autocinetico vehebar; ut de monte currimus, sol oriebatur. Et nubes et urbs sole accensa est. (Nonne intellegitis hoc imago esse?) Flamma divina salire a caelo humum videtur; hoc vere mirabile visu erat...

Aliquis diebus fidem habeo -- in me, hominibus, mundo, et Deo. Hodie erat pulchrus, et nunc pax est mihi.

Identidem cogito me a sententiis meis Alexandrum misisse. Sed... hodie herique me praeteriit, et quam Dido, "adnosco veteris vestigia flammae" (IV.23). Amor non est; libido probabiliter est -- et libido non sat? Odi me quod scio hoc numquam fieri. Forsan possum somniare... ha! ha! ha! Deridendus omnibus sum.

Non valeo; si sapiam, eum vitem. Stulte accendo et excrucior. Desinamne? forsan malo drama renovare...


My dear Floodtide had written at some time that I was able to write well in Latin. Perhaps he forgets my truth: I really record the words of others...

But having read the words of Floodtide, I wished to try to write my thoughts in Latin. I have thought so much regarding worthy words that I hurt. Now I understand why Latin seems dead; it is really hard to write and to think in Latin.

The clouds were beautiful today. I was going to school in a car; as we came down the mountain, the sun was rising. Both the clouds and the city were set aflame by the sun. (You do understand that's just an image, right?) A holy flame seemed to leap from the heavens to the ground... this was truly a wonderful sight...

Some days I have faith -- in myself, men, the world, and God. Today was beautiful, and now I've some peace for myself.

I'm not going to translate the last two paragraphs... if you're incredibly curious, you could always just drop me a note. The quotation from the Aeneid translates:

"I recognize the traces of a former flame..."

Valete omnes.

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?