who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

23 III 2002 - 06:29 - centum3

new

So I began to write a letter to Rachel last night and sort of fell asleep, first on, then in, my bed.

At 6:30 PM.

Obviously I am channeling my inner octogenarian, because really, it's ridiculous. I didn't get up this morning until 6:15 and that was only because I had another nosebleed. (Speaking of nosebleeds - it rained last night. The humidity is up. Why should I be having a nosebleed?)

Maybe it's sleep deprivation or something. I slept just short of twelve hours. You have no idea how lazy that makes me feel, especially in light of lectures from the parents about how I need to get moving with my life.

Tiff asked me yesterday to stop listening to them because I'd feel better, but I can't, because you just don't do that. I find that it's hard to explain the force of filial duty to white people (which is not to say anything against white people - indeed, I love them very much, unless I don't, and if I don't, it's usually not because they're white, ha ha, political correctness has taken over my brain) because it's one of those cultural things that's incredibly hard to put into words because it just feels, if not right, then it's just always been there. It's sort of like asking a career musician to define rhythm as "the pattern of beats within a measure" - well, duh, but that definition has become so elementary that the more complicated becomes what one turns to first. I'm sorry if that made no sense.

On a completely different, and probably rather trivial, note, I must mention that commas are ganging up on me and will eventually kill me meant to say instead of merely "they look rather Asian" of the Buffy dolls in the last entry (trivialis30) rather this: "not only do they look rather Asian... they all have the same face." Not that I'm complaining or anything, they're wonderful, and if you can figure out just what is wrong with all of my sentences and why my sentence structure is so screwed up today (and all other days, I suppose, but today in particular: shades of the question, "why is this night different from all other nights?"), you will get a gold star in the cosmic gradebook.

Not that I have anything to do with that.

As a side note, this is entry no. 200, although I don't really count it as such; back there (on 16 July 2001) is a page which is devoted entirely to diary rings. Thus my count is one off from the handy Diaryland counter and next entry will perhaps even be the introduction of a new layout. (First I have to read up on how to make a table with a scrollbar rather than a magically everexpanding table. I do not want it to consume the entire page like an amoeba from hell.)

I'm getting cold, and dawn has pretty well broken, so I think it's time to take a shower and start preparing for, well, the entire day. (Two morning classes, ugh, and orchestra - with new seating, which is nice, except we don't have our music yet, and then a concert with my sister in it, most exciting of all.) I was going to be leaving, honestly, but my computer cut me off of its own accord and I'm not willing to lose the entire entry for the sake of a hasty exit. So I must reconnect, and while I'm waiting for it to do that:

I got my grades yesterday. I'm getting As and A-minuses in all my classes with the exception of the obligatory B in orchestra and a B-plus in math. Remember last time we had grade reports, how my advisors take ten, fifteen minutes on each person as opposed to the three or so minutes that other advisors take? Yeah. I was fifth this time - better than eighth - but I got in there, intending to get out quickly, and time. just. stopped.

Especially when my advisors told me they were "concerned" about my B-plus because "you might be slipping, Jeremy, and we want to know these things. Are you having lots of difficulty in the class? Are you disruptive?"

Yes, because I am ordinarily disruptive. Read the comments. They'll tell you everything you need to know. Like, he says I understand the concepts! Fancy that! And he says that my tests are solely responsible for my B-plus average (which isn't; someone else who's been getting As in all the areas the class is graded on also got a B-plus.) Of course, I say none of this, merely nod and smile and say, "But science is made up of simpler math," and run out of there.

Sometimes I wish my advisors weren't so concerned.

Take care...

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?