who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

24 VI 2002 - 15:37 - trivialis43

new

Someone liked my last entry, and while I'd like to pretend that it wasn't just a fluke, it probably was. But yes. I understand completely about the not-wanting-to-think, by the way. Sometimes things are just prettier that way. Although I'm not sure that's what you meant.

It's time for a rant, I think. Today in German class, our lesson was supposed to be on 'the accusative case.' So the first teacher (we have two) begins by explaining that the accusative case is used with some prepositions and to indicate the direct object. So far, so good -- this isn't anything I haven't seen in Latin. Then come the fateful Examples.

>>Das ist einen Scheck für Renate,<< he wrote. And proceeded to write >>Herr Wagner ist einen Freund [blah blah blah, it meant 'of the press.'<< The translation for the first reads, 'This is a check for Renate'; the second reads in full, 'Mr. Wagner is a friend of the press.' He used the accusative for both.

'But wait, Jay, isn't the verb "to be" an intransitive verb? Doesn't that mean that it doesn't take a direct object? Isn't the noun on the other side of the verb a subject complement, adn shouldn't it therefore go in the nominative? Isn't that why we call it the predicate nominative?'

Well, yes. But not to hear him tell it. I asked the question: 'If "sein" is intransitive (he nods) -- why does it take the accusative, if the accusative case is a marker of the direct object?' He then proceeds to scold me for wasting the class's time, saying that this is a distinction only linguists make, saying that it doesn't matter whether a verb is transitive or intransitive, and says that I'm 'overthinking' this -- and that to him, it's intuitive and therefore doesn't matter. (Because grammar is boring and no one needs it anyway.)

So he's misinterpreted my question as being about how to conjugate transitive and intransitive verbs in addition to dismissing it -- he then proceeds, five minutes later, to lead the class in a lengthy discussion of the concept of Hegelian dialectic -- in English -- a concept which I find about as fascinating as grammar is, probably, to him.

The matter is resolved when our second teacher comes in, sees his examples on the board, and recoils in horror. 'Those are wrong!' he cries. And suddenly, the day becomes brighter.

Ordinarily, I am not a vindictive man -- oh, who am I kidding, I'm just as petty as everyone else and I shouldn't be afraid to admit it. So I feel amused and angry that any of this ever took place, and there's a certain sick satisfaction in the knowledge that I was Right for once, and that - ha! - my Latin is useful.

Well, it's useful for other things, too, but this isn't half bad.

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?