who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

09 II 2003 - 19:21 - vos nuntiate bona

new

Tereza, maybe? The jury's still out on that one... I'll assume you've had some of these but would suggest filling in the holes: Odyssey, Iliad, Aeneid, Metamorphoses, Juvenal's Satires, Horace, Catullus. I will get back to you about translations although Lattimore and Fagles are good for the Greek (and I believe Lattimore just came out with an Aeneid), while Mandelbaum's Aeneid is at least accesible.

One of my favorite percussionists has a tumor in the middle of his brain. I found this out yesterday, and with that news in mind, Rostropovich's interpretation of Shostakovich 8 was breathtaking. I don't understand how the reviewer could have hated such a glorious piece, but to start with such material and to form it in a Rostropovich gives the piece a terrible majesty, a force capable of inflicting a killing blow to the unwary.

Which perhaps was not the best mood to put myself in, but from when have I paid attention to what's good for me?

A lot of the time, really. I try to tell myself that this focus on what's happening in my life, to me, damn it, is mostly because I can't do anything about anyone's tumor, real or metaphorical. He's going to go through a twelve-hour surgery and there's nothing I can do that will help -- not throw myself under the knife in his place, not wave a wand and make it better, and all I can do is to wish him well, and doesn't that feel frighteningly empty after a while? Powerless is the word of the day...

which is a funny word to take, you know, because I went and spent two hours learning to drive. I will make a good driver out of myself yet. With luck, that is. If I'm not lucky, then we'll see what happens. Maybe I'll move somewhere small that offers a relatively good standard of living for a relatively low cost (good-bye, San Francisco), a good public transportation system, and learn the many ways in which not having a car can be a problem sometimes. It'll be fun.

I go now either to write or to do homework -- probably to do homework, for I feel disgustingly empty. And you know what? I don't think you're dreary at all. And even if you are, sometimes I wish for dreary...

(This entry brought to you by Random Apostrophe, LLC. Because writing gets even better when only one other person has any idea of the conversation to which you refer.)

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?