who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

31 III 2003 - 09:08 - trivialis57

new

So the color on my monitor is a little wonky, as it's decided to switch itself to 480x600, or whatever the smallest setting is, and I can't switch it back, and the little color tubes in the monitor (don't ask me how it works, as far as I'm concerned, it's magic) are going mad trying to figure this new thing out. Which might explain why I found out that instead of being orange, as I'd coded it to be, the little toolbar to the right and towards the bottom was now this peculiar shade of olive. Not that I have anything against olive as a color, mind you -- it's just that it came as a bit of a surprise.

There isn't much news to report. This is the last entry I'll be making from home for the week (and may just be my last entry for the week). The orchestra concert went well; I have fallen in love with the sensation of being carried on top of the bass line yet again. Let this wondrous feeling continue, and I will be in love with every one of those bass players for making it happen. I leave at 2PM (or my flight does, rather; because of where our airport is, I'll be leaving around noon) on a flight to Denver which will, I'm told, eventually get me to Madison, after I switch planes (and hope my luggage makes it with me). To answer your question, I'm going to visit my sister, who teaches now at the UW-Madison.

I went to see "Bend It Like Beckham" last night and enjoyed it. I didn't end up agreeing with the reviews at all, but then again I don't think watching someone playing soccer (or football) is boring. Now, American football or baseball -- those are sports I've never been able to watch without having something else to do. I think my father has given up on me.

It wasn't any Classic movie, but I'm glad to have seen it once, and it was a nice feel-good movie. I'll be able to recommend it to my sister (ha! something to talk about!) and the nice lady who does volunteer work with me on Saturdays. Also, I spent the evening with J., which was pleasant -- we went out for dinner (after being told by -- I don't know the word for it, there was a woman outside the door trying to draw people in, which I know happens only in tourist districts, but half the City is a tourist district anyway -- that woman, at any rate, that their wine list was very good! and then later, after she'd looked at us a moment longer, having her change her mind about that particular draw) and ended up having an interesting conversation about Chinese culture and what sort of hold it has exactly upon us both. After this talk, I came to the conclusion that I'm a lot more bitter about this conflict than I'd ever wanted to admit to myself, and then I suppressed that conclusion. Some things just weren't made to be dealt with on a Sunday night. I think, though, I may have elicited some stares from fellow movie-goers as I walked out of the theatre, saying in a loud voice "and they want you to learn about the language so that you may better reconnect with traditional values and experience your culture!" while leaping about. But that's the price I pay for a good discussion...

Application business. Now I must but send it -- and isn't that progress from where I've been for the past three months? Something to feel good about before I leave, so I can ignore my deteriorating (but outwardly civil) relationship with my mother.

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?