who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

30 X 2002 - 23:45 - brevis59

new

This is aimed at you again -- you should know who you are. As a character in a sci-fi short I read once (I'll dig it up) said, 'I don't point my best knee at just anybody.'

This is not actually what I had in mind for the update -- that's taking more time, but I figured that this one at least is fitting for how I'm feeling, and it's in your favorite language. The last three metrical groups of Horace's Ode 1 from Book 4 follow:

Me nec femina nec puer
   iam nec spes animi credula mutui
nec certare iuvat mero
   nec vincire novis tempora floribus.

Sed cur heu, Ligurine, cur
   manat rara meas lacrima per genas?
Cur facunda parum decoro
   inter verba cadit lingua silentio?

Nocturnis ego somniis
   iam captum teneo, iam volucrem sequor
te per gramina Martii
   campi, te per aquas, dure, volubilis.

Now neither woman nor boy
nor the credulous hope of a reciprocal feeling
nor to contend in wine
nor to place fresh flowers on my brow --
nothing pleases me.

But why, alas, Ligurinus, why
does the unaccustomed tear flow across
my cheeks? Why does my eloquent tongue
fall to little-becoming silence
between its words?

In night-dreams now I hold you captive --
now I follow you (so swift)
across the grass of the plain of Mars,
I follow you, harsh one, even into
the rolling waters [sc. 'of the Tiber'].

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?