who do i visit when i'm not on dland?
tbq slash

we. love. dymphna.net -

Homoeroticism Yay!

kitafic about the one my sometimes mentor (thanks, tiff)

jess!

previous - next

diary rings, links, banners


aporeo - 19:10 on 17 II 2004

sol occidit - 23:29 on 13 I 2004

meminisse haec iuvabit - 11:47 on 16 XII 2003

quiesco - 20:31 on 08 XI 2003

alchera mortuast - 14:40 on 01 X 2003
This is mine. All mine.
thanks are due to sigyn for her patience and help with CSS
oddcellist

13 II 2002 - 16:13 - vita24

new

So I'm starting up a weblog-type thing, because I felt kind of bad about updating with two lines of text. Knowing me, however, those two-line entries will morph into page-long ones, and I'll have served no point, I'll just be writing half as many entries in twice as many diaries. Not a good thing if I'm trying to keep up volume here. (Which by the way is certainly not what it's all about. No no, none of that for me; it's all for myself. I'm no exhibitionist, no egomaniac; this is all the stuff of healthiness and heartiness and there is no pressure on me at all.)

Today was my friend's birthday. She's turning sixteen this year - I burned a CD for her in late January, but last night (of course) I came up with a big block of music that I wanted to give her as well. One album I called a buoy. The other I called brood music. I think it's apt when you've got most of Shostakovich 10 on the latter. I stayed up until about 1 AM burning that and still didn't have time to write liner notes *sigh* so I'll be handing those to her by the end of the year, I promise. Now I just have to remember what I put on the CD, no small task when - but you already know what my attention span, and my memory, are like. I fell asleep doing my homework and woke up with just a little less time than I would have needed to finish it - don't you hate it when that happens? I ended up doing it during science class anyway. I'm a terrible, terrible student.

So I ended up giving her two CDs (just to go back to what I was talking about way up there) and a card which I wrote. Unfortunately, the ink blobbed because I hadn't mixed it properly and there was too much water in my brush to boot. Sometimes my inability to write Chinese annoys me. Then again, it's sort of excusable considering that I don't really use the language all that much. Note to self: must fix that someday.

And then that was nice because I found out that her coat covered me quite nicely and that there was a lot left over after that. I'm really rather a small person. I expect I shall fit in the bed I have now for the rest of my life (a bit smaller than a twin - our beds are weird). Although with another person, that may get odd. I can quite comfortably sleep on a couch. This makes situations where the rest of the boys in my class are complaining about how awkward it is to sleep on the couch rather odd, as I never see any problem with it... all right, it isn't that odd, and I've gone off the subject I wanted to be on. Not that that's a bad thing of necessity.

Orchestra as usual was infuriating - yesterday, the other cellist "forgot" both his glasses and contacts, which I can understand if your vision is relatively good, but if you can't focus on the blackboard (which is what he said he'd had trouble with earlier that morning), how did he not notice? All right, I'm being unfair, and perhaps rather bitter about the fact that my vision isn't good enough to ever allow me to forget the fact that I have glasses. Grr. (Well, also, the weight is a tipoff. And I guess sometimes my hands forget - they move to push them up when they're not there. But still.) Today, he just couldn't read music. Or count. I'm getting out of that class as soon as possible.

Speaking of classes, I had that "program planning" meeting with my class dean yesterday. It turns out I was right, that the meeting was supposed to be at 3:30, not at 4 as my mother had finally convinced me. The dean, who happens to be my advisor as well, wasn't too upset, but she was sick, so I felt really bad. We ended up taking an hour to discuss what I might want to do. No, actually, we spent ten minutes on what I might want to do; the other fifty minutes I spent listening to my mother talk to her about me as if I wasn't there. I should really be used to it by now, but I still find it incredibly boring. And it was all really repetitive. The thing is that I find that my parents, like me, are incredibly redundant when speaking, and will say the same thing five different ways. It's infuriating to listen to, but then I feel bad about being irritated because I know I do it too. Did I have a point to begin with? Oh yes, sophomore planning conferences suck. I did find out what my cumulative GPA for the past three semesters is, and I managed to get the point across about what I might want to do for the next two years (although with my options, the class dean had to pause and say, "Wait... you don't want to take nine classes senior year, right? I just didn't mark the options correctly?"), and overall, it was time which could have been better spent - on homework, say, or perhaps an entry.

Grr. So I'm not going to say any more about that, because if I do, I'll go off the deep end. Happy 16th birthday to my friend, and... actually, that's about it.

Today is a pretty lucky day in the Chinese reckoning, coming so soon after New Year's Day. Just so you know.

old

j-mail

i

ego

dland

guestbook
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Can you think of something new to help me fill this space?